As we travel on our spiritual journey, it’s always encouraging to hear from others how God has worked in their lives. Periodically we’ll share testimonies from our NAOBC Women on how God worked in their life. Today’s testimony is from Payton Davis.

Payton has been at NAOBC for six years. She’s in the Singles BFG and serves in the preschool ministry, connections tables, and in the college and singles ministry. You can read more about her here.

Over the past year, the Lord has continued to break me to a point of recognizing and believing in His faithfulness, sovereignty, and goodness.

Suffering and loss has blinded me to the Lord’s hand forcing me to choose to believe when I can’t see and to trust when I don’t understand. At the turn of a new year, I am still unable to look back and explain why the Lord allowed the circumstances of this past year and I may never be able to, but, as a result of the suffering, I have a far greater longing for what is to come. “How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord of hosts! My soul longs, yes faints for the courts of the Lord; my heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God.” (Ps. 84:1-2)In the midst of suffering and constantly turning to Psalm 84, I was reminded that…
This earth is not my home.This earth will never satisfy my longings.And, while on this earth, He is not withholding good from me. (v.11)

In the Lord’s kindness, I did not receive the things I desired this past year, but, by the losses of people, things, and dreams in this life, He instead gave me a longing for my eternal home where I will be fully satisfied in His presence! Oh how I long for that day! But, until then, the Lord has called me to stay, so I strive to keep my eyes fixed on Jesus that I may endure this life well (Heb. 12:1-2). And even when I fail to do so in this upcoming year, and surely I will, I rest in the truth that He is faithful when I am not.
“When I fear my faith will fail, Christ will hold me fast.”