On Mondays, we’ll take time to meet the women of NAOBC. Five questions followed by how you can connect with the NAOBC women on social media. Today’s interview is with Sarah Halfacre.

Q: Tell us about yourself

A: I am married to my wonderful husband, Kevin, whom I met at Ninth & O in 2003. After we married in 2005, our adventures together began, as Kevin was an officer in the Navy at the time. Ten moves and two kids later, God brought us back to Louisville in 2022. I’m currently a wife and mom and give the occasional tennis lesson.

Q: Tell us about your time at NAOBC

A: We’ve been back at Ninth & O for about a year and a half now. Kevin and I are in the Hinerman’s BFG IC5 and our teenagers are actively involved in the student ministry. I’m also a choir member and love serving at VBS.

Q: What is a fun fact that most people wouldn’t know about you?

A: Having moved so many times, I’ve developed a passion for living with less. I guess being forced to go through all of my belongings every two years has shifted my perspective on stuff. I love purging and organizing. And I’ve learned that it’s a steady continuous cycle and not just a one time thing. 

Q: What woman has made the most impact in your life?

A: There is not just one woman that has made an influence in my life — there are many! I’m a proud PK and my parents had the most impact in my walk with the Lord. The women of First Baptist Church DeRidder, LA, poured into my life in many different ways and I will be forever grateful for them.  

Q: What is something the Lord has taught you in the last year?

A: What I’ve learned this past year is that sometimes things that are in and of themselves good they may not be the best for us. Living in Louisiana, prior to our recent move here to Louisville, was like going home to me. I finally had family around, a great church, and a job that I didn’t know I would enjoy. But my heart turned from my home and I became distracted. When I said yes to other people and other things (even good things), I was saying no to the most important things. Looking back, I see God’s Hand in all of it. I’ve cried many tears and still do. I’m so thankful for encouragement and wise counsel from my husband and godly friends who help keep me grounded.

You can follow Sarah on Facebook and Instagram @halfacresarah.