On Mondays, we’ll take time to meet the women of NAOBC. Five questions followed by how you can connect with the NAOBC women on social media. Today’s interview is with Abby Braun.

Q: Tell us about yourself

A: I grew up in Louisville and Shelbyville, KY, but claim Louisville as home. I met my husband, Nick, while we were attending the University of Louisville and married after we graduated. We are about to celebrate our eleventh wedding anniversary! We are blessed with two kids Ethan and Charlotte. Ethan is four years old, kind, playful, and quite the introvert. Charlotte is almost two, sweet, and as fearless as they come. I am currently staying home with the kids which has been such a sweet and unexpected gift. I taught at two different elementary schools in Jefferson County Public Schools for nine years before staying home with the kids. Nick is in his tenth year of working for JCPS at the high school level. I also taught as an adjunct professor for IUS in their education program for a few semesters, which I loved! The current plan is to return to teaching in JCPS in the future. As far as returning to work we are taking it one step at a time as we see what’s best for our family.

Q: Tell us about your time at NAOBC

A: Nick and I started attending NAOBC in the fall of 2009. We were in college at the time, dating, and looking for a church to be a part of. A guy at Starbucks actually invited us to come visit the church and we knew right away that it was where we wanted to be. We were in the college BFG all through college, got married and briefly joined a young married couple’s BFG before being asked to come back and serve with the college group. This summer will mark ten years that we have been serving with the college BFG. I am also a co-leader of one of the ladies Wednesday night discipleship groups with my sweet friend (another leader in the college BFG) Danielle Holmes. I genuinely love NAOBC and the people that make up this local body. What a blessing to be part of a body of believers that is striving together to love the Lord and live out their faith!

Q: What is a fun fact that most people wouldn’t know about you?

A: I like to play video games with my husband and now my four-year-old son. The Mario games are my favorites! I’m also a fan of John Mayer and have been able to see him live three times.

Q: What woman has made the most impact in your life?

A: This was a tough question for me to think about at first because I do not feel like there is a simple answer. There has not been one individual woman who has spiritually walked with me over the years, but many sisters in Christ who have walked with me in different seasons. The ladies who have made the most impact on me are the ones that I have had the privilege to serve with in the college ministry over the years. In our earlier years of serving Rebekah and Kacie were sweet encouragements to me in my growth. In recent years Danielle, Chanda, Liz, and Kathleen have been such a blessing, but there are so many others that I could name! The ladies I’ve been surrounded by are gifted in various ways by the Lord and I have learned from each of them. I am challenged by them to grow in the areas they are gifted in, encouraged by them to continue striving to love the Lord more, and loved by them in practical ways. These women walked with me through my hardest and most difficult seasons, rejoiced with me in the goodness of God, and loved me well in all the highs and lows. Some of the ladies have moved away, some are still here, and despite where they are I am thankful for each one of them and how God used and continues to use them in my life.

Q: What is something the Lord has taught you in the last year?

A: Something the Lord has been teaching me is that we are needy and there is purpose and beauty in that. We need more than passing greetings on Sunday morning. We need more than a couple hours a week sitting at church. We need more than a quick prayer here and there and skimming a few verses to check a box. We are all carrying burdens from this life, and we need to grow in our love and understanding of the Lord and grow in relationship with one another to reach the finish line. We need to dig in and truly strive to love the Lord and His people. God in his sovereignty designed us to be dependent on Him and His people. If we believe that we aren’t, we are missing out on understanding part of His goodness for us.

There has been a heavier burden on my heart for the people that the Lord has placed around me. Although I am also learning to be more flexible in how to love people in the season I am in with littles, it has been a sweet blessing to share life with other women as best as we can.  It has also meant learning how to be loved on in this season as well, which has not always been easy, but I am needy as well.

My encouragement to you would be to dig in. Allow yourself to be transparent, needy, and loved by those around you. Look for people to love in simple, practical ways because whether they say it or not, they are needy as well. It takes time to know people, so start now. Commit and take initiative. The Lord loves His people, and we should too.

You can follow Abby on Facebook and Instagram @abby_rose6212